TO: Ari Epstein

FROM: Charles Walcott

RE: Faculty Members to Serve on University Hearing Board

The following faculty members have agreed to serve further two-year terms on the University Hearing Board, continuing through August 31, 2009:

Timothy DeVoogd (reappointment) [Note that he will be on leave Fall '07] Cynthia Hazan, CHE (reappointment)
Arnim Meyburg, Engr. (reappointment)
Jeevak Parpia A&S (reappointment)

Professor Ashim Datta will be a new appointee to the Hearing Board and will serve June 1, 2007 through August 31, 2009.

Brief background information on each of these appointees is attached.

I understand that these appointments will have to be approved by the University Assembly. Please let me know if there are any questions or problems.

c: Peggy Beach

Ashim Datta, Professor, Biological and Environmental Engineering, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, has been a member of the University Faculty since 1987.

Timothy DeVoogd, Professor, Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences, has been a member of the University Faculty for 25 years. He has been a member of the Faculty Advisory Committee on Admissions and Financial Aid, the Faculty Council of Representatives, and the University Hearing Board.

Cynthia Hazan, Associate Professor, Human Development, College of Human Ecology, has been a member of the University Faculty since 1988. She has been a member of the Board on University Health Services.

Arnim Meyburg, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, has been a member of the faculty since 1969. He has been a member of the Committee on Academic Freedom and Professional Status of the Faculty and is currently a member of the Faculty Senate.

Jeevak Parpia, Professor, Physics, College of Arts and Sciences, has been a member of the University Faculty for 21 years. He is currently serving on the Local Advisory Council.