Cornell University Assembly

UA Resolution # 17 Recognition of Outstanding Support to the AY 2014 Legislative Session

1	Sponsored by: James Blair, Employee; Chair of the Assembly
2 3 4 5	Whereas , it takes considerable time, effort and dedication to support the important work of the University Assembly (the Assembly) each legislative session; and
6 7 8 9	Whereas, the Assembly is extremely grateful for the tremendous assistance given to it by the Office of the Assemblies, as well as the numerous university officials and presenters that testify before the Assembly or its Standing Committees to ensure the Assembly gets the information it needs;
10 11 12	Be it therefore resolved, the Assembly formally recognizes the following people for their exceptional support:
13 14 15 16 17	Professor Richard Allmendinger, College of Engineering, and Professor David Pelletier, College of Human Ecology, for their thorough presentations on the Ho Plaza incident of November 2012 and the University Faculty Committee's recommendations in response to that investigation;
18 19 20 21	Ms. Mina Amundsen, Cornell University Planner, and Professor Steven Wolf, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, for their excellent presentation and discussion on Cornell's Master Plan for the Ithaca Campus;
2223242526	Dr. Renee Alexander, Associate Dean and Director if Intercultural Programs, and Dr. A.T. Miller, Vice Provost for Initiatives, for their thoughtful presentation and discussion on Toward New Destinations and Cornell's campus climate;
26 27 28 29	Mr. Dave Howe, Senior Director for Facilities Services Finance and Administration, for his informative presentations on campus parking changes and recent transportation initiatives;
30 31 32 33 34 35	Mr. Dave Howe, Senior Director Facilities Services Finance and Administration, Ms. Kellie Page, Associate Vice President for Student and Academic Services, and especially Mr. Ben Kuo, EH&S, for their continuous support of the Assembly's investigation and recommendations regarding TCAT financing;
36 37 38 39	Chief Kathy Zoner, Cornell University Police, for her Annual Update on Cornell Security Trends and Clery Act Statistics as well as her exemplary support of the Assembly on a host of other issues;
40 41	Dr. Mary Beth Grant, Judicial Administrator (JA), for her Annual Update of Student Disciplinary Trends and recent initiatives in the JA office;

Cornell University Assembly

42	
43	Dr. Charles Walcott, Dr. Linda Falkson, and Mr. Adam Kleinberger from the
44	University Ombudsman's Office, for their Annual Update on the Ombudsman's
45	Office and as well as their continuous, exceptional service to the university;
46	, 1
47	Mr. Dan Roth, Director of Campus Sustainability Office of Facility Services, for
48	his outstanding presentation on carbon neutrality and Cornell University's
49	Climate Action Plan;
50	
51	Professor David Shalloway, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, and Mr. Jeff
52	Bergfalk, Graduate Student of Mathematics, for their compelling presentations
53	on the issue of divestment in support of carbon neutrality;
54	
55	Mr. A.J. Edwards, Chief Investment Officer, and Ms. Joanne DeStefano, Vice
56	President for Finance and CFO, for their equally compelling presentations on the
57	University's concerns regarding divestment in support of carbon neutrality;
58	
59	Mr. Mike Powers, University Communications, for his support and leadership to
60	the Office of the Assemblies early in the academic year;
61	
62	And Ms. Gina Giambattista, Ms. Amy O'Donnell, Mr. Noah Wegener, and Ms.
63	Aastha Wadhwa, all from the Office of the Assemblies, for their tremendous
64	guidance, support and outstanding assistance throughout the entire AY 2014
65	legislative session;
66 67	Do it further Decelved that the Assembly requests this Decelution of Decembin be
67 68	Be it further Resolved, that the Assembly requests this Resolution of Recognition be forwarded to the appropriate Deans, Vice Presidents and Vice Provosts so that all
69	these individuals can be properly recognized for their outstanding support of the
70	University Assembly; and
71	Oniversity resembly, and
72	Be it finally Resolved, that the Members of the Assembly also extend their sincerest
73	gratitude to President David J. Skorton for his unwavering support of shared
74	governance as well as his personal involvement with, interest in and
75	consideration of our numerous proposals and Resolutions. Thank you.
76	constactation of our manifestate proposate and reconations. Thank you
77	Respectfully Submitted,
78	
79	James N. Blair
80	Chair, University Assembly